The Contradictions is a masterpiece. Sophie Yanow’s tale of hitchhiking around Europe under the spell of a sulky, fixie-riding anarchist is a pitch-perfect portrait of youthful disillusionment and self-discovery. Yanow’s impeccable ligne claire drawing seems to mathematically cancel out everything nonessential in her panels, and the effect is surprisingly, even transcendently, emotional.” —Alison Bechdel, author of Fun Home

Announcing The Contradictions’ Digital Book Tour!

Sept. 8 — 1 pm EST / 10 am PST
Book Release Day! “At Home with Sophie Yanow”
Drawn & Quarterly Instagram
Details here.

Sept. 10 — 8 pm EST / 5 pm PST
Sophie Yanow and Suzy Exposito in conversation.
Green Apple Books Digital Launch
Details here.

Sept. 17 — 8 pm EST / 5 pm PST
Sophie Yanow and Alison Bechdel in conversation.
McNally Jackson Digital Launch
RSVP here.

The Contradictions is Yanow’s best work yet. The atmosphere of Yanow’s lines paired with the clarity of her writing form a style of comics that I have never seen before. Every panel makes you want to cry and laugh simultaneously. “—Tillie Walden, author of On a Sunbeam

The Eisner winning webcomic is now available as a book, published by Drawn & Quarterly.

Order from Green Apple Books (SF) or McNally Jackson (NYC) and get a limited print run signed bookplate!

Read below for a short preview.

1

2

3

4

5

About

I’m Sophie Yanow. The Contradictions is an Eisner award winning work of autofiction, now published as a graphic novel with Drawn & Quarterly.

To follow my work and see what I’m reading, join my monthly newsletter.
For past work: sophieyanow.com

Correspondence:
PO Box 996
Woodacre, CA 94973

Media inquiries: julia@drawnandquarterly.com